In the News

Mayor Sarno Congratulates 2021 Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching Award Winners

Mayor Domenic J. Sarno is proud to congratulate the twenty-one Springfield Public Schools (SPS) teachers who were honored as 2021 Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching Award winners. The awardees were nominated by their peers for outstanding teaching.

The annual Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching Award program honors Western Massachusetts educators and seeks to motivate teachers at all stages of their careers to aspire to excellence. This year, twenty veteran teachers and one new teacher from SPS were honored.

Congratulations to each of the following SPS awardees:

2021 Veteran Teacher Winners:

Sarah Alwon, Public Day Middle

Erica Begley, Balliet Middle

Brenda Vallejo, DeBerry Elementary

Alyson Santerre, Milton Bradley Elementary

Cheryl Ray-Bass, Rebecca Johnson Elementary

David McCutchen, Central High School

Katherine Kruser, Pottenger Elementary

Amy Silva, STEM Middle Academy

Kaitlin Hogue, White Street Elementary

Aimee Baron, Rebecca Johnson Elementary

Kathleen Conlon, Central High School

Kathryn Chace, Conservatory of the Arts

Taylor Scata Gunn, Milton Bradley Elementary

Jennifer Sinclair, High School of Science and Technology

James Naioleari, High School of Science and Technology

Sally Kim, Kennedy Middle

Mary Pat O'Connor, Brookings Elementary

Jason Ravizza, White Street Elementary

Alexander Freedman, Duggan Academy

Linda Tierney, Glickman Elementary

2021 New Teacher Winner:

Sean Agustynowicz, Duggan Academy

Mayor Sarno states, “First of all, good health to you and your families. Congratulations to you all on being named a 2021 Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching Award winner. Thank you for your continued, dedicated, and nurturing efforts to our students.

You all motivate and create a positive pathway of life opportunities and success for our students. Stay well and God bless.


Domenic J. Sarno, Mayor”

Page last updated:  Tuesday, March 1, 2022 01:32 pm